Ukraine Designated for Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for 18 Months

On March 3, 2022, the Department of Homeland Security announced that it was designating Ukraine for Temporary Protected Status due to the war between Russia and Ukraine for 18 months. However, this period can be extended if necessary.

A country is given TPS status when certain events have happened in that country, making it unsafe for citizens of that country to return safely. This would include events such as an ongoing armed conflict, environmental disasters (i.e., earthquakes), or other extraordinary and temporary conditions.

During the period that a country is designated for TPS, eligible individuals from that country who are in the U.S. are eligible to apply for a work permit, cannot be deported from the U.S., and may be given travel authorization to leave the U.S. Keep in mind that having TPS status does not automatically create a path to getting a green card, but it does not prevent individuals from getting a green card through another avenue if they meet the eligibility requirements.

For Ukrainians to qualify for TPS, they must have continuously resided in the U.S. since March 1, 2022. Anyone who arrives in the U.S. after that date will not be eligible. As of this writing, other countries that are currently designated for TPS status include Burma (Myanmar), El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen.